Georgia Council on Literacy Announces Appointments

Staff Report

Wednesday, May 17th, 2023

Lt. Governor Burt Jones announced legislative and citizen appointments to the Georgia Council on Literacy.

“I want to thank Senator Billy Hickman for his leadership on Senate Bill 211 and the Majority Caucus for making literacy a top priority for this session,” said Lt. Governor Burt Jones. “Increasing literacy rates for students across Georgia is a critical investment to ensure Georgia’s students have the foundation of reading. Each of the appointees are experts on this issue and bring a variety of experience and ideas to the table for a robust and thorough discussion on how we can increase literacy rates across the state and help young Georgians succeed.”

The Georgia Council on Literacy was established by the passage of Senate Bill 211 during the 2023 session. The following members will serve on the 30 member council:
· Senator Clint Dixon (R – Buford) – Chairman Senate Education and Youth Committee
· Senator Billy Hickman (R – Statesboro) – Chairman Senate Higher Education Committee
· Senator Blake Tillery (R – Vidalia) – Chairman Senate Appropriations Committee
· Senator Jason Esteves (D – Atlanta)
· Senator Freddie Powell Sims (D – Dawson)
· Katie Bennett, Teacher
· Jailene Hunter, Board of Education Member
· Dr. Bubba Longgrear, Superintendent
· Malcolm Mitchell, Literacy Advocate

To review the full text of SB 211 and additional information on the Georgia Council on Literacy, please follow this link: